Overview - Special Services

Mathis ISD provides special education services to children with disabilities to meet their unique needs. These educational programs are provided in a variety of settings, including a typical classroom, a content mastery classroom, a special campus placement, the student's home, or a hospital setting. Students must be identified as in need of special education through a referral and evaluation process. In to academic programs, the district also provides related services including transportation, speech therapy, occupational and physical therapy, adaptive physical education, individual or group counseling, and a work-study program. To qualify for special education, students must have been evaluated in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004, and have a disability such as the following:

 

  • Speech or language impairment
  • Hearing impairment including deafness
  • Visual impairment including blindness
  • Orthopedic impairment
  • Autism
  • Traumatic Head Injury
  • Serious Emotional Disturbance
  • Mental Retardation
  • Another Health Impairment
  • A Specific Learning Disability
  • Deaf-Blindness
  • Multiple Disabilities
 

Special education is offered at no cost to parents to meet the needs of a child with a disability, including instruction conducted in the classroom, in the home, in hospitals and institutions, and in other settings, and instruction in physical education.

The instruction offered through special education has been changed in content, methodology, or delivery of instruction to address the unique needs of a child that will result from that child's disability and to ensure access of the child to the general curriculum, so that he or she can meet the educational standards within the jurisdiction of the public agency that apply to all children.

Child Find

Special Education services are available to eligible children within the Mathis Independent School District. The student must be between the ages of 3 and 21 with a documented handicap and an educational need that requires special education. Children with visual and/or auditory impairments may be eligible at birth. A variety of placement options are available if found eligible after a full and individual evaluation.

For children ages 3-5 or placed in a private or home school, please contact the Director of Special Programs, Christina Alvarado, at (361) 547-3378 ext 1200. For school-aged students attending a MISD school, contact the campus Counselor. 

 
Title First Name Last Name Phone Email
Director of Special Programs Christina  Alvarado (361) 547-3378
Ext. 1200
calvarado@mathisisd.org
SEMS Clerk Jessica  Brown (361) 547-4106
Ext. 1060
jbrown@mathisisd.org
Educational Diagnostician Carissa Calderon (361) 547-4106
Ext. 1062
ccalderon@mathisisd.org
Educational Diagnostician  Amy  Jackson (361) 547-4123
Ext. 1061
ajackson@mathisisd.org
Speech Language Pathologist Blanca De Leon (361) 547-4106
Ext. 1120
bdeleon@mathisisd.org
High School Resource / Behavior Theresa  Gonzalez (361) 547-3322
Ext. 5148
tgonzalez@mathisisd.org
High School Life Skills Unit Cody Chapman (361) 547-3322
Ext. 5149
cchapman@mathisisd.org
High School Resource / Math Margaret  Branstetter (361) 547-3322
Ext. 5127
mbranstetter@mathisisd.org
High School Behavior Victor  Alvarado (361) 547- 3322 
Ext. 5108
valvarado@mathisisd.org
Middle School Life Skills Unit Carla Parker (361) 547-2381
Ext. 4201
cparker@mathisisd.org
Middle School Resource  Adriana Navejas (361) 547-2381
Ext. 4314
anavejas@mathisisd.org
Intermediate Life Skills Unit Elisa Flores (361) 547-2472
Ext. 3109
eflores@mathisisd.org
Intermediate Resource Vienna DeLagarza (361) 547-4106
Ext. 3121
vdelagarza@mathisisd.org
Intermediate Behavior Unit Delia Reeves

(361) 547 - 2472
Ext. 3000

dreeves@mathisisd.org
Elementary Resource Teacher Heather Bevly (361) 547-4106
Ext. 2122
hbevly@mathisisd.org
Elementary Adaptive Education Samantha Cruz (361) 547-4106
Ext. 2122
scruz@mathisisd.org

 

Contact Us
Stay Connected